Maine Credit Union League Presents Awards To Six Individuals

May 31, 2016

As part of its recent 78th Annual Meeting & Convention held in Portland, the Maine Credit Union League presented its Annual Awards to six individuals who, combined, have nearly 175 years of experience being involved with Maine's credit unions.  More than 800 credit union representatives and guests attended this year’s Convention, which was the largest crowd in at least two decades.  The largest crowd in more than two decades credit union representatives and guests attended this year’s Convention in Portland.  

"Though the theme of the 2016 Maine CU League Annual Meeting & Convention was, "Maine credit unions - Together.Toward.Tomorrow,'' a select group of individuals were honored for their past contributions to their own credit unions and/or to the collective Maine CU System.  The recognition and accolades for all of this year’s winners were well-deserved,” said Richard Dupuis, Outgoing Chair of the Maine CU League’s Awards and Convention Committee, which coordinates the Annual Awards.

The 2016 Award Recipients are:

Alexander Ferguson Award for Outstanding CU Volunteer - John Doe, Vice Chair of the Board at Eastmill FCU, based in East Millinocket, with an additional branch in Patten.  Doe has been a credit union volunteer for 30 years, and was recognized for "always being willing to volunteer his time and energy to help out others and participate in CU related functions."

Jeannette G. Morin Award for Outstanding CU Employee - Denise Dube, Operations Manager at Lisbon Community FCU in Lisbon, with a branch in Lewiston.  A 35-year credit union employee, Dube started out as a teller right out of high school and has held a variety of positions over the course of her career.  One co-worker described Denise as “that person who will do anything to get the job done to help members.”  

James M. Gratto Award for Outstanding Credit Union CEO - Scott Chretien, President/CEO of York County FCU of Sanford, with additional locations in Biddeford, Saco and York.  A veteran of the Maine credit union system, Chretien served as Chief Financial Officer at York County FCU prior to becoming President/CEO in 2013.  Upon receiving the Award, Chretien remarked, “Receiving this award is an honor and I appreciate it very much.”  In one of Chretien’s nominations, he was described as “the type of leader who gives credit to others rather than to himself."

League President's Award - Jim Lemieux, President/CEO of Sebasticook Valley FCU, of Pittsfield, with a branch in Newport.  John Murphy, President of the Maine Credit Union League, presented this Award to Lemieux and praised him for serving as Chair of the Maine CU League Board for the past three years and for his nine years of service overall, so far, on the Board.  "Some people think that the work of Board Chairman is just around board meetings but some of the most difficult work and toughest functions you have to perform in that role happen outside of the meetings.  Jim has done a great job in this role, and we look forward to him remaining on the Board,” added Murphy.  
Diane L. Oceretko 'People Helping People' Award – Dorna Girardin, Member Service Phone Rep at Town & Country FCU of South Portland, with other locations in Portland, Saco and Scarborough.  In this award, which recognizes outstanding community-service by an individual in the Maine CU System, one co-worker described Girardin, a 23–year CU employee, as “always being one of the first to raise her hand and help out.”  From helping to serve dinner to the homeless on Thanksgiving to taking vacation time to participate in the Wreaths Across America project, Girardin makes a difference to her community.

League Chairman’s Award – Rod Rovzar, Attorney for Norman, Hanson & DeTroy, LLC.  This award is not presented annually but rather for special occasions to honor extraordinary accomplishments and service.  Rovzar, who has served as General Counsel for the League for nearly 40 years, was recognized for his many contributions, expertise and knowledge he has provided to the League and Maine’s credit unions over his career.  He announced earlier this year that he is stepping down as a full-time attorney and counsel.  "Rod has always been willing to help Maine's credit unions, and his daily presence and involvement will be missed," explained Jim Lemieux, President/CEO of Sebasticook Valley FCU and immediate past-Chair of the Maine CU League's Board, who presented the Award.  

The Maine CU League’s Annual Awards have been presented annually since 1973.

“Maine credit unions are first and foremost about people, and the individuals recognized this year are people who make a difference in the lives of members, their colleagues and their communities,” stated John Murphy, President of the Maine Credit Union League.