Industry Veterans Recognized With League’s Annual Awards

July 10, 2014

Of the six individuals recognized with one of the Maine Credit Union League’s Annual Awards, only one had less than twenty years of affiliation with Maine’s credit unions and that individual had 17 years of experience.  Longevity and dedication ruled the evening as the League presented the Awards during the Annual Awards Banquet at its 76th Annual Meeting & Convention on Friday, June 27, at the Holiday Inn by the Bay.  

The recipients of the 2014 Maine Credit Union League’s Annual Awards are: Jeannette G. Morin Award for Outstanding CU Employee - Linda Howe, VP of Marketing and PR at Down East CU, who received the Award on her final day of employment, as she retired after 25 years working for CUs effective at the end of the Convention; Alexander Ferguson Award for Outstanding CU Volunteer -  Raymond Gagnon, Board Member Emeritus at PeoplesChoice CU, who has been a volunteer with the credit union since he helped to start it back in 1953; James M. Gratto Award for Outstanding CU CEO - Phil Moreau, President/CEO of Rainbow FCU, who has announced his intention to retire after 43 years with the credit union as of July 1, 2015, was honored with this Award for the second time; Diane L. Oceretko ‘People Helping People’ Community Service Award - Veronica Levesque, AVP at Maine Savings FCU and a 25-year employee, was recognized for her commitment to ending hunger and other causes; League President’s Award - John Doe, Board Chair at Eastmill FCU, was honored by John Murphy, President of the League, called Doe, who has been a credit union volunteer for 28 years and a member of the League’s Board for the past 14 years, “a great member of the Board who brings the volunteer perspective to all of our discussions.”; and The Denis A. Letourneau, Jr., Award for Outstanding League Employee - Mike Rosmus, a 17-year veteran with the League and Synergent who is a Senior Graphic Designer and Illustrator in DMS, was praised for “quietly doing his job in a professional and dedicated way.”  

Videos highlighting each Award winner have been posted under the Annual Meeting & Convention link found through the News & Events Tab at