Strong bipartisan support for Maine CUs as all new Legislative Leaders were League-endorsed

December 12, 2016

On Wednesday, December 7, the 128th Maine Legislature was officially convened with all 186 legislators sworn in by Governor LePage in ceremonies at the State House in Augusta.  Though the new Legislative session won't actually begin until right after the start of the new year, leaders for both parties in the Maine House and Senate have begun their new roles.  All ten of the legislators who will serve in leadership for the next two years were endorsed by the Maine Credit Union League.  "We are pleased to see so many friends of credit unions from across the state in leadership including a long-time credit union Board Member once again serving as the House Minority Leader," stated John Murphy, President of the Maine Credit Union League.

Murphy noted that the League is particularly gratified by the fact that nearly three-quarters of the new Legislative Leadership are credit union members.  "It's great to know that many legislative leaders already have a connection to their local credit union."

The Legislative Leaders for the 128th Maine Legislature are:


Senate President - Mike Thibodeau
Senate Majority Leader - Garrett Mason
Assistant Senate Majority Leader - Andre Cushing

Senate Minority Leader - Troy Jackson
Assistant Senate Minority Leader - Nate Libby


Speaker of the House - Sara Gideon
House Majority Leader - Erin Herbig
Assistant House Majority Leader - Jared Golden

House Minority Leader - Ken Fredette
Assistant House Minority Leader - Ellie Espling